Is it really “just” a piece of paper? | Blog Challenge

This entry was supposed to be posted yesterday but then I forgot. See what I’m talking about? I’m only on the second day and I’m already forgetting to post my entries. To make up for the forgotten entry yesterday, I’ll just post 2 blog entries today. Ugh. Okay here’s the first one (that’s supposed to be for yesterday)

Well, for me I think education is really important and it’s something that people should take seriously. It can make all the difference, you know. And it’s something that people cannot take away from you no matter what. I remember my mama telling me and my brother to finish school because education is the only treasure they can give us. (“Human gyud mo ug skwela nak kay wala mi lain mapa-mana sa inyo kundi ang inyong edukasyon ra gyud” ) Growing up, this became my mantra which pushed me to go on when life gets in the way sometimes.

I remember one time, someone said “Kanang diploma, papel ra man na!” (That Diploma thing you are talking about, it’s just a piece of paper) and I was horrified by this notion. How can a piece of paper be “just” a piece of paper when it has the power to make you or break you? I don’t understand why some people out there have less regard for education and here I am worrying that I might end up a failure or whatever (over-thinking problems). I don’t know what will happen to those people because as I see it now, it’s hard enough to find a job even when you’re a college graduate, how much more if you don’t have any college diploma to bring with you.

If I’m ever going to be given a chance to give advice to kids, I’ll tell them to take their education seriously because education is everythaaaaang. Yeah, I’d like to elaborate more but I keep running out of words and I might just end up forgetting to post this again and I won’t let that happen.

Leave a comment